Blank Banner

This is the place to post questions and comments about the FlexBanner component
yourgroupride
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2014 11:05 pm

Blank Banner

Post by yourgroupride » Thu Dec 11, 2014 11:09 pm

Hey guys,
I have FlexBanner set up on my site and think it works great. I am having one issue, when it rotating thru the adds every once in a while, it wont load a banner, just a blank space.
Any idea what might be causing that?

Thanks in advance,
Dan

Andrew998
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: Blank Banner

Post by Andrew998 » Fri Dec 12, 2014 10:47 am

Are you sure it isn't loading a banner and you haven't just set up a banner without an image?
Andrew998
Developer

spencermjax
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 11:19 pm

Re: Blank Banner

Post by spencermjax » Sat Jan 24, 2015 11:37 pm

I am having the same issue.
Was there ever any resolution to the problem?

Andrew998
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: Blank Banner

Post by Andrew998 » Sun Jan 25, 2015 11:15 am

It was never established that there was a problem. I need more information to work on. It isn't an issue that has ever come up in testing and is rarely mentioned on the forum. Could I have back end access to your site to see what might be happening?
Andrew998
Developer

spencermjax
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 11:19 pm

Re: Blank Banner

Post by spencermjax » Sun Jan 25, 2015 2:12 pm

Andrew998, Thanks for responding. I just sent you access credentials via PM.

Andrew998
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: Blank Banner

Post by Andrew998 » Sun Jan 25, 2015 3:05 pm

Thanks, I got that. I'm not seeing the problem so can you give me some more information on what is happening? e.g. is there a particular position you are seeing the problem?
Andrew998
Developer

spencermjax
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 11:19 pm

Re: Blank Banner

Post by spencermjax » Sun Jan 25, 2015 4:15 pm

I'm not sure what the issue could be. It seems to be completely random. I am seeing it on all of the pages and the three modules I have multiple ads set up on. As I click through the site, every once in a while, one of those modules does not load (shows nothing). When that happens or on which page it happens or which module it happens with seems to be completely random. However, I have only seen one module with this issue at a time. I would say that this is happening probably every 7 or 8 page loads.

Andrew998
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: Blank Banner

Post by Andrew998 » Sun Jan 25, 2015 4:27 pm

Okay, it's always the same banner (ID=4). I suspect it's a problem with the naming of the image although I don't know why yet. Can you try renaming that image Shefi_240x240_1.jpg rather than Shefi_ 240x240_1.jpg (removing the space before the first 2) and let me know if that helps?
Andrew998
Developer

spencermjax
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 11:19 pm

Re: Blank Banner

Post by spencermjax » Sun Jan 25, 2015 5:59 pm

WOW! That seems to have worked. I did not notice the space in that file name. I will keep an eye on it and let you know if I see the issue again.
Thanks again for your help!!

Andrew998
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: Blank Banner

Post by Andrew998 » Sun Jan 25, 2015 10:09 pm

Strictly speaking that's a server problem and doesn't happen on my server. But to avoid the problem in future I'll build in a work around which will be available in the next release of FlexBanner..
Andrew998
Developer

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest