Double Counting of Banner Impressions

This is the place to post questions and comments about the FlexBanner component
Post Reply
Andrew998
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Double Counting of Banner Impressions

Post by Andrew998 » Tue Dec 16, 2014 2:23 pm

This is an issue some templates have. It is not a FlexBanner bug. Some templates actually render the module twice, once to check if there is anything in it and then again if there is. This is stupidly inefficient and needs to be fixed by the template provider. It would be perfectly simple to render it once and then display that content if it is there.
Andrew998
Developer

wins
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 12:01 pm

Re: Double Counting of Banner Impressions

Post by wins » Thu Apr 16, 2015 10:23 am

Hello,

I tried with Banner module of joomla, so when i display banner, joomla module counts one impression on the same template while Flexbanner counts three impressions. Have you tested Banner module of joomla ?

Regards.

Andrew998
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: Double Counting of Banner Impressions

Post by Andrew998 » Thu Apr 16, 2015 10:50 am

Yes. But I suspect it differs by template. I'll do some more testing.
Andrew998
Developer

Andrew998
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: Double Counting of Banner Impressions

Post by Andrew998 » Thu Apr 16, 2015 11:43 am

In my testing I'm seeing the same problem in the Joomla Banner module as in the FlexBanner module. Could you tell me what template you are using?
Andrew998
Developer

wins
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 12:01 pm

Re: Double Counting of Banner Impressions

Post by wins » Fri Apr 17, 2015 9:43 am

I'm using Protostar (installed by default) and yoo_master2 (by Yootheme) templates.

Andrew998
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: Double Counting of Banner Impressions

Post by Andrew998 » Fri Apr 17, 2015 10:13 am

Both FlexBanner and the native banner component count correctly in Protostar as you would expect. I'll have to see if I can get hold of a Yootheme template to see what their framework does. I've tested with the T3 framework and that's fine.
Andrew998
Developer

Andrew998
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: Double Counting of Banner Impressions

Post by Andrew998 » Mon Apr 20, 2015 12:44 pm

I've now tested with the latest version of the Warp framework (Yoo Theme) and I'm not seeing a problem with banner counts with either the native banner component or FlexBanner.
Andrew998
Developer

Andrew998
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: Double Counting of Banner Impressions

Post by Andrew998 » Wed Apr 22, 2015 9:16 am

I have now spotted a further issue that mainly affects the owner of the site. For some reason if you visit a page a lot and refresh it a lot the browser cache can cause issues. I've had examples of multiple counts on a single page refresh but if you clear your browser cache and try again it correctly shows a single impression.
Andrew998
Developer

ssnobben
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 7:46 pm

Re: Double Counting of Banner Impressions

Post by ssnobben » Sat Jun 20, 2015 4:33 pm

hmmm ok good to know. Do do or anyone else if there is a problem with the new Gantry 5 framework? http://gantry.org/

That looks very good and its free with a standard free template that you can use...

rgds

Andrew998
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: Double Counting of Banner Impressions

Post by Andrew998 » Sat Jun 20, 2015 5:19 pm

I'm pretty sure I tested it with Gantry and it was fine.
Andrew998
Developer

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest