Hi first topic! problem with showing banners...

This is the place to post questions and comments about the FlexBanner component
jsooter
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 11:40 pm

Re: Hi first topic! problem with showing banners...

Post by jsooter » Thu Jan 22, 2009 5:30 pm

I'm having this problem as well, I've tried putting the module in the banner position (the banner component that comes with joomla works in that position, and it was disabled)
I've tried putting ID numbers in the location ID, as well as the position value from my template, still no luck. and yes I did try both ways with restrict access on and off and made sure the com and mod had both values the same.

Andrew998
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: Hi first topic! problem with showing banners...

Post by Andrew998 » Thu Jan 22, 2009 5:35 pm

What template are you using?
Andrew998
Developer

jsooter
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 11:40 pm

Re: Hi first topic! problem with showing banners...

Post by jsooter » Thu Jan 22, 2009 5:45 pm

I'm using a custom template I made

banners are in a div:

Code: Select all

<div id="articleCol">

<jdoc:include type="modules" name="bannertop" />

<jdoc:include type="component" />

</div>

Andrew998
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: Hi first topic! problem with showing banners...

Post by Andrew998 » Thu Jan 22, 2009 5:48 pm

THe problem UweJ was having was due to a script in the template. Yours is quite straightforward so I suspect it is a configuration issue. CAn you get it to display a banner in a different module position?
Andrew998
Developer

jsooter
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 11:40 pm

Re: Hi first topic! problem with showing banners...

Post by jsooter » Thu Jan 22, 2009 5:55 pm

well I tried it originally like

Code: Select all

<div id="bannerTop">
<jdoc:include type="modules" name="bannertop" />
</div>
The banner component that comes with joomla works both ways.

However, I'm not sure if I'm configuring it right; does the module go in "bannertop"
and then do I have to specify "bannertop" in the location id?

Andrew998
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: Hi first topic! problem with showing banners...

Post by Andrew998 » Thu Jan 22, 2009 6:00 pm

The module goes in bannertop. Location ID is the ID of the location you have set up in the component and specified for the banner. Get the numeric location ID from the Manage Locations page in the component.
Andrew998
Developer

jsooter
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 11:40 pm

Re: Hi first topic! problem with showing banners...

Post by jsooter » Thu Jan 22, 2009 6:04 pm

So if Article ID:57 then I put 57 in the text box that says location ID and select the size of the banner?

Andrew998
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: Hi first topic! problem with showing banners...

Post by Andrew998 » Thu Jan 22, 2009 6:06 pm

No, this is nothing to do with articles. When you set up a banner in the FlexBanner component you create (or use an existing) location. You use the numercial ID of that location which you find by looking at the "manage Locations" page of the component.
Andrew998
Developer

jsooter
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 11:40 pm

Re: Hi first topic! problem with showing banners...

Post by jsooter » Thu Jan 22, 2009 6:09 pm

There are no locations listed on that page
Attachments
ManageLocations.jpg
ManageLocations.jpg (54.14 KiB) Viewed 3264 times
Last edited by jsooter on Thu Jan 22, 2009 6:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Andrew998
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: Hi first topic! problem with showing banners...

Post by Andrew998 » Thu Jan 22, 2009 6:12 pm

So create one! Use the "New" button at the top of the page.
Andrew998
Developer

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests