4.05 installed OK on J3.2.1, but db errors later

This is the place to post questions and comments about the FlexBanner component
timtecsa
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 9:59 am

Re: 4.05 installed OK on J3.2.1, but db errors later

Post by timtecsa » Thu Jan 16, 2014 3:19 pm

I deleted the directory as you suggested and re-installed using Web Installer method. I got following warning:

Warning
JFolder: :files: Path is not a folder. Path: /var/www/vhosts/globalprintmonitor.info/httpdocs/gpm3beta1-2014/administrator/components/com_flexbanners
JFolder: :files: Path is not a folder. Path: /var/www/vhosts/globalprintmonitor.info/httpdocs/gpm3beta1-2014/administrator/components/com_flexbanners
JInstaller: :Install: Cannot find XML setup file
JInstaller: :Install: Cannot find XML setup file

Message
Installing component was successful.

I assume that this is caused by the Joomla Installer "impurity" referred to by Peter van Westen here: http://www.nonumber.nl/forum/Modals/220 ... anic#22064

However, I still get the same error when trying to add a new banner size.

Andrew998
Posts: 1400
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: 4.05 installed OK on J3.2.1, but db errors later

Post by Andrew998 » Thu Jan 16, 2014 3:21 pm

Could I have back end access to your site to explore the issue further?
Andrew998
Developer

timtecsa
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 9:59 am

Re: 4.05 installed OK on J3.2.1, but db errors later

Post by timtecsa » Thu Jan 16, 2014 3:56 pm

Check: Andrew998 mailbox. Let me know if you need FTP and/or db access. BTW the db looks fine.

Andrew998
Posts: 1400
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: 4.05 installed OK on J3.2.1, but db errors later

Post by Andrew998 » Thu Jan 16, 2014 4:11 pm

Having looked I wonder if it's a quirk of your sub-domain. I think it might be referencing files from the top level domain rather than the correct files. Is FlexBanner installed on the top level domain and, if so, what version?
Andrew998
Developer

timtecsa
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 9:59 am

Re: 4.05 installed OK on J3.2.1, but db errors later

Post by timtecsa » Thu Jan 16, 2014 6:38 pm

Well, (aka long story) there are many (mostly disabled) subdomains under the server's "httpdocs" directory. The live site www.globalprintmonitor.info links to a subdomain too. It is running (or was) Flexbanner 1.5.69 on Joomla 1.5.26
It stopped running recently in the sense that when trying to add or edit any banner I get this message:

DB function failed with error number 1054
Unknown column 'lang_code' in 'field list' SQL=SELECT lang_code AS shortcode, title AS name FROM jos_languages

I could find no funny lang stuff in the db tables so, when the live ads timed out I thought (smartarse) I'll just edit the end date in the db table. Needless to say, the ads did not magically re-appear and this as much as anything else triggered my efforts to master Joomla 3 and Joomlart Teline IV. You know the rest as far as Flexbanner goes. You don't want to know about my trials and tribulations with Teline IV. Indeed I thought I'd install Flexbanner for Joomla 3 as light relief :-( Always worked brilliantly before etc etc.

Do you want to poke around in the Plesk stuff to see if the subdomain is insufficently subservient? Any thoughts / fix ideas on the error mentioned above?

BTW I feel a PayPal donation is in order if you can get to the bottom of these issues :-)

Andrew998
Posts: 1400
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: 4.05 installed OK on J3.2.1, but db errors later

Post by Andrew998 » Thu Jan 16, 2014 7:03 pm

I think you need to start by getting Plesk and your server set up correctly. It isn't secure to run sites with 777 permissions and is a result of running php as an Apache module. As a start you should start running your sites with fast cgi and resetting all the permissions. Once that is done it might be possible to sort out the sub domain issue.
Andrew998
Developer

timtecsa
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 9:59 am

Re: 4.05 installed OK on J3.2.1, but db errors later

Post by timtecsa » Thu Jan 16, 2014 10:16 pm

Here is the background to the 777 matter. http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=707&t=830993
See also: http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=710&t=832062 which may be relevant.

Apart from setting directory and file permissions as recommended by Akeeba I don't know what else to do. I have never been able to set up JFTP, but have had no problem using Filezilla.

You lost me here: "... running php as an Apache module. As a start you should start running your sites with fast cgi and resetting all the permissions."

What do I need to do?

Andrew998
Posts: 1400
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: 4.05 installed OK on J3.2.1, but db errors later

Post by Andrew998 » Fri Jan 17, 2014 9:07 am

In Plesk go to Service Plans and choose one. The choose the Hosting Parameters tab. Look for Scripting near the bottom and change Run PHP as from Apache Module to FastCGI.

BY doing this all the php permissions are set and owned by the system and you can run your server using 644 permissions (755 for directories).
Andrew998
Developer

timtecsa
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 9:59 am

Re: 4.05 installed OK on J3.2.1, but db errors later

Post by timtecsa » Fri Jan 17, 2014 10:11 am

If I change the Run PHP as to Fast CGI on the default domain (there is only 1 domain i.e. globalprintmonitor.info) will I screw up the live site?

Andrew998
Posts: 1400
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: 4.05 installed OK on J3.2.1, but db errors later

Post by Andrew998 » Fri Jan 17, 2014 10:17 am

It might take a bit of time to sort out the permissions and get it running correctly so it is possible that you will affect the live site.
Andrew998
Developer

Post Reply