4.05 installed OK on J3.2.1, but db errors later

This is the place to post questions and comments about the FlexBanner component
timtecsa
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 9:59 am

4.05 installed OK on J3.2.1, but db errors later

Post by timtecsa » Tue Jan 14, 2014 6:08 pm

Error
Save failed with the following error: Unknown column 'images' in 'field list' SQL=INSERT INTO `gw9tq_flexbannerssize` (`sizeid`,`sizename`,`width`,`height`,`maxfilesize`,`state`,`images`) VALUES ('0','banner_300_125','300','125','5000','1','null')

Error message when trying to add a new banner size. Similar messages on trying to setup categories, clients etc.

Andrew998
Posts: 1400
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: 4.05 installed OK on J3.2.1, but db errors later

Post by Andrew998 » Wed Jan 15, 2014 11:47 am

Can you try reinstalling 4.0.5 please, that isn't a problem we've seen in testing.
Andrew998
Developer

timtecsa
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 9:59 am

Re: 4.05 installed OK on J3.2.1, but db errors later

Post by timtecsa » Wed Jan 15, 2014 2:14 pm

Thanks, Andrew. I have, several times, but get same errors. I even removed and re-installed from both upload and web installer. It's a test site, so I have sent emai with admin access details if you want to take a look.

Andrew998
Posts: 1400
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: 4.05 installed OK on J3.2.1, but db errors later

Post by Andrew998 » Wed Jan 15, 2014 3:17 pm

Where did you get the 4.0.5 version? Is it an upgrade?
Andrew998
Developer

timtecsa
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 9:59 am

Re: 4.05 installed OK on J3.2.1, but db errors later

Post by timtecsa » Thu Jan 16, 2014 12:13 am

I installed it from JED http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... ement/6951 both by downloading the zip and by doing a direct web install. Not an upgrade. Fresh test site. The first attempt may have been by uploading 4.0.3. I just found com_flexbanners_4.0.3.zip on my Mac, so I may well have installed from that first. It's dated Jan 14th. at 18.39 hours.

doorknob
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 12:34 pm

Re: 4.05 installed OK on J3.2.1, but db errors later

Post by doorknob » Thu Jan 16, 2014 8:13 am

I had the same problem and more, lots more. Andrew spent a lot of time trying to demonstrate that I hadn't installed it correctly but no time trying to fix any of the issues

Andrew998
Posts: 1400
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: 4.05 installed OK on J3.2.1, but db errors later

Post by Andrew998 » Thu Jan 16, 2014 9:42 am

If you look at the error doorknob, this is a completely different problem to the one you had.

If you don't believe I have an interest in fixing problems I suggest you look at this recent thread: flexbanner/update-problem-t637.html
Andrew998
Developer

Andrew998
Posts: 1400
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: 4.05 installed OK on J3.2.1, but db errors later

Post by Andrew998 » Thu Jan 16, 2014 10:03 am

timtecsa can you try the attached update please. I looked at this in some detail and can only think your installation has got corrupted in some way.
Attachments
com_flexbanners_4.0.5update.zip
(273.46 KiB) Downloaded 122 times
Andrew998
Developer

timtecsa
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 9:59 am

Re: 4.05 installed OK on J3.2.1, but db errors later

Post by timtecsa » Thu Jan 16, 2014 2:05 pm

I still get exactly the same error as before when trying to create a new banner size, after installing the 4.0.5 update.

Andrew998
Posts: 1400
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: 4.05 installed OK on J3.2.1, but db errors later

Post by Andrew998 » Thu Jan 16, 2014 2:12 pm

I'm really struggling to understand this. Can I suggest you delete the directory /administrator/components/com_flexbanners and then install flexbanners again. You won't lose anything.
Andrew998
Developer

Post Reply