1 link used for all (the first item) version 4.0.4 J2.5.17

This is the place to post questions and comments about the FlexBanner component
Post Reply
maxid
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 7:52 pm

1 link used for all (the first item) version 4.0.4 J2.5.17

Post by maxid » Fri Jan 03, 2014 3:12 pm

Happy New Year!

Dear Andrew,

This is about an issue related to the use of the links.

After the upgrade to version 4.0.4, all image-banners link to the first created link (ID 1 in the link-listing) in stead of the link that is selected for the banner.
In case the link with 'ID 1' is updated, that new link is used for all image-banners.

I used 'auto-update' from version 4.0.3.
After noticing the error I tried to go back to version 4.0.3, without improvement.
This is with Joomla 2.5.17.

(All custom code banners' are linked OK.)

It might be something with the database. Do you have an idea how to solve it?

Thanks,
Edger

Andrew998
Posts: 1400
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: 1 link used for all (the first item) version 4.0.4 J2.5.

Post by Andrew998 » Sat Jan 04, 2014 10:11 am

I'll take a look.
Andrew998
Developer

Andrew998
Posts: 1400
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: 1 link used for all (the first item) version 4.0.4 J2.5.

Post by Andrew998 » Sat Jan 04, 2014 10:24 am

Sorry, I've done some testing and I'm not seeing that problem here. Is there any other information you can give me?
Andrew998
Developer

maxid
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 7:52 pm

Re: 1 link used for all (the first item) version 4.0.4 J2.5.

Post by maxid » Sat Jan 04, 2014 1:21 pm

Thanks for testing.

I found the reason for this problem it's related to using JoomSEF in combination with the link-ID's for image banners.

I am sorry for this report, it has nothing to do with the upgrade. It was the first time we added new links for image banners.

JoomSEF created identical 'flexbanners.html' SEF URLs for each link-ID that FlexBanner asks for. (JoomSEF did not respect the &id=#&task=click part in the Real URL. )

Given this situation, I see 2 ways of using FlexBanner and JoomSEF.
- Either don't use image-banners, or
- Modify the SEF URLs each time a new FleaxBanner link-ID is added. (Maybe this is helpful for JoomSEF users that want to work with FlexBanner.)
Go to JoomSEF URL Manager and update the SEF URL 'flexbanners.html' for each new FlexBanner-link-ID.
To keep it simple, add the FlexBanner-link-ID, for example:
flexbanners1.html
flexbanners2.html
flexbannerr3.html

After saving the modification, be careful to NOT have the initial SEF URL created as 301 redirect !

(See the attached screenprints)

Again, sorry for my report, thanks very much for taking the time to look into this.

Have a good weekend!
Ed
Attachments
FlexBanner_JoomSEF-WorkAround.jpg
work around for using Flexbanner and JoomSEF
FlexBanner_JoomSEF-WorkAround.jpg (68.94 KiB) Viewed 1580 times

Andrew998
Posts: 1400
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: 1 link used for all (the first item) version 4.0.4 J2.5.

Post by Andrew998 » Sat Jan 04, 2014 1:48 pm

Don't worry, we're aware that FlexBanner doesn't work with Joomsef. It's fine with other sef components such as sh404sef but Joomsef seems to have an odd way of creating URLs.
Andrew998
Developer

Post Reply