Remove "Banner image" Column from FlexBanner Banner Manager

This is the place to post questions and comments about the FlexBanner component
MarsFrog
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:11 pm

Remove "Banner image" Column from FlexBanner Banner Manager

Post by MarsFrog » Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:17 pm

Hi

Just wondered if there is a way to remove the "Banner image" Column from the FlexBanner Banner Manager.

They just show up as empty squares on mine and make the whole table huge.

Thanks

Andrew998
Posts: 1400
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: Remove "Banner image" Column from FlexBanner Banner Mana

Post by Andrew998 » Thu Sep 19, 2013 8:21 am

They shouldn't be empty or huge (what version of FlexBanner are you using?).

That said, if you do want to remove the column it can be done using a template override.
Andrew998
Developer

MarsFrog
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:11 pm

Re: Remove "Banner image" Column from FlexBanner Banner Mana

Post by MarsFrog » Thu Sep 19, 2013 9:35 am

Hi

I am using Flexbanners 2.0.26

I am using Custom Code for all my adverts. The custom code contains a link to the advert (hosted off site) and the link to the advertisers site.

I looked at some of the Flexbanner files to see if I could remove the column but it is beyond my skills.

Here is a screen shot of what I am seeing.
Attachments
Screen-shot-2013-09-19-at-09.20.png
Screen-shot-2013-09-19-at-09.20.png (5.08 KiB) Viewed 2085 times

Andrew998
Posts: 1400
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: Remove "Banner image" Column from FlexBanner Banner Mana

Post by Andrew998 » Thu Sep 19, 2013 9:39 am

Yes, it won't show custom code in the display, it's there for proper banners.

You need to create a directory in the html section of your template called com_flexbanners/flexbanners and copy the default.php file from /com_flexbanners/views/flexbanners/tmpl/ to it.

You can then edit the file. It's quite a simple file and you can just look for the table cell entires for that column and remove them.

Incidentally, current version is 2.0.27.
Andrew998
Developer

MarsFrog
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:11 pm

Re: Remove "Banner image" Column from FlexBanner Banner Mana

Post by MarsFrog » Thu Sep 19, 2013 10:02 am

I can only find /com_flexbanners/views/client/tmpl/

I copied the default.php file to html/com_flexbanners/flexbanners

I removed the following code

<th align="left" width="10" nowrap>
<?php echo JText::_('FLEXBANNER_BANNERIMAGE'); ?>
</th>

and then uploaded the default.php file but the Banner Image column is still visible.

Andrew998
Posts: 1400
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: Remove "Banner image" Column from FlexBanner Banner Mana

Post by Andrew998 » Thu Sep 19, 2013 10:04 am

You've only taken out the heading for the column (th) not the whole column (td). Remember to change the colspan for the footer too.
Andrew998
Developer

MarsFrog
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:11 pm

Re: Remove "Banner image" Column from FlexBanner Banner Mana

Post by MarsFrog » Thu Sep 19, 2013 10:35 am

Hi

I deleted all those bits and nothing happened so I deleted the entire table in default.php and uploaded the file and it still had no effect.

So I deleted the entire table from the /com_flexbanners/views/client/tmpl/default.php file and uploaded that and still nothing happened.

I have emptied the cache on my browser and refreshed but the table is still there.

I uploaded some changed CSS files to my site just to make sure that everything is working and those changes did appear.

Andrew998
Posts: 1400
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: Remove "Banner image" Column from FlexBanner Banner Mana

Post by Andrew998 » Thu Sep 19, 2013 10:39 am

Are you doing the changes in the right place? If it's back end you need to be making the changes in the admin template. If it's front end in the front end template.
Andrew998
Developer

MarsFrog
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:11 pm

Re: Remove "Banner image" Column from FlexBanner Banner Mana

Post by MarsFrog » Thu Sep 19, 2013 12:37 pm

I download the files with Dreamweaver, make the changes then upload them.

This has worked fine for changes I have made to my template and to other modules and components.

I am afraid my knowledge of PHP etc is quite limited so my troubleshooting skills are also quite limited.

Andrew998
Posts: 1400
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:43 am

Re: Remove "Banner image" Column from FlexBanner Banner Mana

Post by Andrew998 » Thu Sep 19, 2013 12:39 pm

My question was about the location of the file you are editing and whether you are placing it in the right location for what you want to do.
Andrew998
Developer

Post Reply